Shocker Lecture

The Shocker Lecture ran from 2000 to 2011 with the mission of highlighting key innovations in product development. Each year featured a nationally known figure who discussed latest concepts in product development process. The lecture series was named after Professor Allen Shocker, a former professor in the Carlson School of Business and one of the founders of the New Product Design and Business Development program.

Year Keynote Speaker Streaming Video
(Windows Media Player)
2000 Harvey Robbins
President of Robbins & Robbins, Inc.
2001 Danny Cunagin
President and CEO
Logic Product Development, Minneapolis
2002 Peter Lawrence
Corporate Design Foundation, Boston, MA
2003 Steven Eppinger
Sloan School of Management, MIT
2004 Karl Ulrich
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
2005 Abbie Griffin
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Video Link
2006 Don Norman
Northwestern Univ, & Nielsen Norman Group
Video Link
2007 Roger L. Martin
Dean of the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto

2011 James M. Patell
Herbert Hoover Professor of Public and Private Management at the Graduate School of Business, Stanford University
Macintosh users can copy the video link and past it into VLC Media Player as a network location to view the videos.